Xossip

Go Back Xossip > Technology> Computers, Gadgets & Gizmos > Help Regarding my D-Link Router

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
  #1  
Old 31st January 2017
solverforallreal's Avatar
solverforallreal solverforallreal is offline
Custom title
 
Join Date: 11th June 2012
Posts: 19,634
solverforallreal has disabled reputations
Help Regarding my D-Link Router

I am currently using a D-Link DSL - 2730U router on my computer and my ISP is Airtel Broadband. My router supports wifi connectivity so ... i was wondering if there is any app or any method .. to control the number of people connected to my router ... or if i can limit their speeds.
Please help ASAP

Thank You

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31st January 2017
nishu.a.niceguy's Avatar
nishu.a.niceguy nishu.a.niceguy is offline
NisHunteR
 
Join Date: 2nd October 2013
Location: pLanet earth
Posts: 6,077
Rep Power: 18 Points: 5737
nishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autographnishu.a.niceguy has celebrities hunting for his/her autograph
Send a message via Yahoo to nishu.a.niceguy
I think u can do it accessing your router. You can change the setting.
______________________________
I think I could fall madly in bed with you.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31st January 2017
illegal's Avatar
illegal illegal is offline
◄----------►
Visit my website
  Co-administrator: Co-administrator of Xossip    Silver Coins: Contributed $25-$100 for XP server fund    Soccer WCC Organisor: Soccer World Cup '06 Contest      
Join Date: 24th October 2005
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 37,505
illegal has disabled reputations
Send a message via ICQ to illegal Send a message via AIM to illegal Send a message via MSN to illegal Send a message via Yahoo to illegal Send a message via Skype™ to illegal
UL: 109.18 gb DL: 43.21 gb Ratio: 2.53
You can limit connection using MAC address filter. These settings will be under advanced area on wireless security. Per port/per connection speed control is not available on entry level routers. For that you need costly routers or custom firmwares which allow that.
______________________________
All The Desirable Things In Life Are Either Illegal, Expensive Or Married

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st January 2017
solverforallreal's Avatar
solverforallreal solverforallreal is offline
Custom title
 
Join Date: 11th June 2012
Posts: 19,634
solverforallreal has disabled reputations
Quote:
Originally Posted by nishu.a.niceguy View Post
I think u can do it accessing your router. You can change the setting.
Tried my router settings dear ... there is no option to manage the number of people who can use my ip .. or a way for me to control their assigned speeds .. .
but thanks for the help anyways ..

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st January 2017
solverforallreal's Avatar
solverforallreal solverforallreal is offline
Custom title
 
Join Date: 11th June 2012
Posts: 19,634
solverforallreal has disabled reputations
Quote:
Originally Posted by illegal View Post
You can limit connection using MAC address filter. These settings will be under advanced area on wireless security. Per port/per connection speed control is not available on entry level routers. For that you need costly routers or custom firmwares which allow that.
but how do i control their speeds using MAC filtering



Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31st January 2017
illegal's Avatar
illegal illegal is offline
◄----------►
Visit my website
  Co-administrator: Co-administrator of Xossip    Silver Coins: Contributed $25-$100 for XP server fund    Soccer WCC Organisor: Soccer World Cup '06 Contest      
Join Date: 24th October 2005
Location: Antarctica
Posts: 37,505
illegal has disabled reputations
Send a message via ICQ to illegal Send a message via AIM to illegal Send a message via MSN to illegal Send a message via Yahoo to illegal Send a message via Skype™ to illegal
UL: 109.18 gb DL: 43.21 gb Ratio: 2.53
Quote:
Originally Posted by solverforallreal View Post
but how do i control their speeds using MAC filtering


you can't control speed on low end routers. Using MAC filter, you can limit the number of connections to specific devices/laptops by entering the MAC address one by one and saving.
______________________________
All The Desirable Things In Life Are Either Illegal, Expensive Or Married

Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31st January 2017
solverforallreal's Avatar
solverforallreal solverforallreal is offline
Custom title
 
Join Date: 11th June 2012
Posts: 19,634
solverforallreal has disabled reputations
Quote:
Originally Posted by illegal View Post
you can't control speed on low end routers. Using MAC filter, you can limit the number of connections to specific devices/laptops by entering the MAC address one by one and saving.
oh !
Anyway, Thanks for the help ..

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +5.5. The time now is 01:20 AM.
Page generated in 0.01682 seconds